GALILEO Subcommittees

Open Access Committee

The Open Access Committee will provide guidance on supporting the use and creation of Open Access resources within GALILEO.  The committee will assess current Open Access resources and policies and make recommendations to increase the utilization of Open Access materials.  The initial goal of this committee will be to establish a general Open Access strategy for GALILEO.  After this initial phase, the committee will provide input on projects to assist GALILEO in meeting its strategic goals for Open Access.  Examples of possible projects include, but are not limited to:

  • Investigating existing OA initiatives and recommending GALILEO participation
  • Assessing publishing output of GALILEO affiliated authors
  • Exploring funding models to increase OA output
  • Supporting the negotiation of transformative agreements
  • Coordinating and standard set of OA policies for GALILEO members

Current committee members

(USG) Craig Schroer - University of West Georgia

(USG) CJ Ivory - University of West Georgia

(AMPALS) Teva Sweet - Atlanta University Center

(USG) Britni Williams - Albany State University

(USG) Fred Rascoe - Georgia Institute of Technology

(TCSG) Michelle Barsom - West Georgia Technical College

(USG) Monique Martinez - University of North Georgia

(AMPALS) Erica Durham - Columbia Theological Seminary

(USG) Chelsee Dickson - Kennesaw State University

(GPLS) Angela Stanley - Georgia Public Library Service

(USG) Jennifer Putnam Davis - Augusta University

(GISA) Katie Mitchell - The Heritage School

(GPLS) Ben Bryson - Marshes of Glynn Libraries

(GPLS) Derek Mosley - Fulton County Public Libraries

(GPALS) Derek Otis - Oglethorpe University